• Vicky Ooi

Rachel Horridge | Get To Know WILD Talents



We got to sit down with our WILD talent, Rachel Horridge to chat about a number of things. We talked about her life as a business owner and content creator, her recent engagement, and much more!



Give us a little summary of yourself and what you do!


Rachel: Hi, I’m Rachel! I’m from the U.S. but have lived in Korea for almost eight years now. I own an online accessory shop, Twice Shy, with my sister and am also a content creator! I post videos about my life in Korea on YouTube and TikTok. I share interesting facts about life here that some people may not know and also share some crazy personal anecdotes through TikTok and story time videos on my YouTube channel.


So, you’ve been living in Korea for almost 8 years now! What do you love most about it?


Rachel: That’s a hard one! There’s actually so much that I love about Korea! But if I had to list a few, it would have to be the fashion, incredible beauty (skincare) products, and most importantly, the food!


What does a typical day in your week look like?


Rachel: I start my days by taking my dog Mickey out for a walk then making myself a BIG cup of coffee. Then I go into my home office and have a Skype meeting with my sister to talk about anything we need to get done for Twice Shy. After working on my computer, I cook up something for lunch! I really enjoy cooking and my fiancé and I both work from home, so having lunch together everyday is something I always look forward to.


Next I’ll either spend my time filming/editing a YouTube video, taking/editing photos for my shop or making TikTok videos. After dinner, I like to relax by watching Netflix, doing DIYs on my sewing machine, or visiting a cafe with a friend. Because of the time difference in the U.S., I sometimes end up working on things for my business late at night. But I’m just so thankful to have such a flexible schedule after working a 9-5 job here for so many years.


Wait, did you say fiancé?!


Rachel: Yes! My boyfriend and I have been together for almost 8 years now, and on my 30th birthday, he asked me to marry him and I said Yes! It still feels so surreal and I still can’t believe that I get to marry my best friend one day!



It seems like you have a pretty busy schedule! Do you ever have time to rest?


Rachel: It does get very busy at times. I can become too focused on work, but fortunately, my dog, Mickey, is always there to remind me to take a break and remember that the outside world exists because he wants to go for a walk before dinner!


Who is/was your inspiration for starting your career?


When I first moved to Korea, right after graduating from college, I worked as an English teacher at a kindergarten. During my free time, I would watch a lot of YouTube since I didn’t have a TV at home. But, back then, there were not many foreign YouTubers in Korea and Korea-based content to watch. I felt like there wasn’t anyone out there that I could relate to within the Korean content vlogging world of that time. It also felt as if there was so much information lacking from the YouTube space that I would’ve found really helpful to know before moving to Korea myself.


So, I decided to start my own YouTube channel. I tried my best to juggle both teaching full-time and making YouTube videos, when I could, over the next few years. But after 6 years of teaching and putting my dreams on hold, I realized that life was too short to not follow my heart and take the risk of giving up my financial stability to start my own business. It hasn’t been easy, but it has all been worth it to get to where I’m at now.


What is your most memorable memory of your career so far?


I think the most memorable moment in my career so far was the trip my sister and I took to Tokyo together right before we started our online business in 2019. It was just so surreal to see all the amazing new things unfold for us and to know that when I got back to Korea, I wouldn’t be teaching anymore. I would be starting a new journey as a business owner and would have so much more time and energy to focus on my other passion - creating content for YouTube. I felt extremely hopeful, even though the unknown was actually terrifying.


What would you say is the best part about your career?


The absolute best part of my career is being able to work from home and on my own schedule. I love being with my dog all day and spending most of my days working in pajamas!


Give us a fun fact/ interesting fact/ surprising fact about yourself!


I think most people who I meet in Korea are always surprised to find out that I have a twin sister. Growing up, we were always together, so it felt a bit bizarre to me to be completely alone in Korea, with no friends nor family when I first moved here. It was definitely difficult to get used to, but my sister and I still talk every single day on Kakao Talk or Skype!

Follow Rachel’s social media:

YouTube | Instagram | TikTok


READ MORE