• Vicky Ooi

Diana Kiyaeva | Get To Know WILD Talents



Please introduce yourself to our readers.


Diana: Hi everyone! My name is Diana Kiyaeva and I’m 21 years old. I started my YouTube channel 3 years ago and mostly do daily vlogs, travel vlogs and introduce Korea and its culture. My videos are mostly in Russian because 90% of my subscribers are Russians but I try to have English and Korea subtitles in my videos when I have a little bit more time to edit. Aside from YouTube, I also have a part time job in an Italian restaurant.

So, why did you end up in Korea?

Diana: I was born in Far East Russia but grew up in Korea, actually! My mom got a job here and so we moved out here when I was 4. I went to a Russian school in Korea, then to a Korea public school when I was in 8th grade. I had to retake the school year because it was hard for me to adapt to the Korean public school system. I remember the first year being the hardest for me because I didn’t understand a lot of Korean back then and always had to translate the whole chapter at home before going to class.


After graduating high school, I decided to do University in Korea but was afraid that I couldn’t get in because I never spent as much time as other students preparing for the entrance exams. Surprisingly, two universities accepted me and I decided to go to Sogang University, where I’m currently a sophomore for their Business Administration program.


What does a typical day in your week look like?


Diana: My days are mostly the same: waking up, doing my beauty things like masks etc., walk my dog for minimum 1 hour twice in a day, go to gym or pilates, if I have shot something I edit the video, and if I have a free day I love to read a book and relax. Then going to work or having my schedule planned with meetings.

Who was your inspiration for starting your career?


Diana: I have always wanted to become a YouTuber. But it wasn’t until 2017 that I started pursuing it. At that time, I actually attempted to make videos in Korean for the South Korean audience but it wasn’t good. So, I decided to delete the channel. Not long after, I considered making videos for the Russian audience because during that time, South Korea was gaining popularity in Russia. Plus, there were so many people out there who wanted to learn more about what there is in South Korea. And, that was when I officially started my YouTube channel that has brought me to where I am today!



What is your most favourite content created until today?


Diana: My travelling vlogs! All my travel vlogs mean a lot more to me, personally. They are all records of all my happiest moments in life. For example, the videos of my trip to Bali or back to my hometown in Russia. Those were one of the few moments where I genuinely enjoyed every second of it. While editing those videos, it allowed me to relive those moments and makes editing a lot more fun and enjoyable!

Give us a fun fact about yourself.

Diana: Oh boy! Well, not a lot of people know this, but I used to be part of a music band when I was still in school. I played the electric guitar and we would always play at school festivals and I loved it.


Here’s another one! When I was 14, I wanted to become a tattoo artist and started to practice drawing sketches. But that’s not the case anymore! Haha! I also have a Labrador Retriever named Archi. I spend most of my time with him.


Lastly, I am actually trilingual. Currently, I am learning Mandarin and hope to be able to learn more languages in the future!

 

Follow Diana's social media:

YouTube | Instagram



READ MORE